What are you shooting with, and what is your go to camera and lens combo? 

Hello and greetings everyone I just wanted to get out a really quick post.  I often get asked what’s in your camera bag or what are you shooting with? So to answer that question is my main bodies are canon’s 5Ds, and an 80D and the lenses I use with those bodies I’m going to start off with my favorite and probably one of the most underrated lens.

  1. Canon 180mm f/3.5 macro lens omg the colors, sharpness, and rendering I get from the lens have been unmatched. 
  2. Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8 aka the black mamba wow is all I can say about this lens unbelievable lens but this lens weighs a ton but image quality is awesome.
  3. Canon 24-70mm f/2.8 version 2 lens I don’t think I have to say much about the quality you get for the lens. 
  4. Canon 135mm f/2 lens probably the sharpest lens from canon next to my favorite 180mm macro.
  5.  Sigma 20mm f/1.4 wide angle this lens is sharp edge to edge minimum to zero distortion in my opinion just a great lens especially for weddings and events.
  6.  Last but not least and definitely no slouch when it comes to image quality straight out of camera is the Sigma art 50mm f/1.4 lens just plain awesomeness no more to be said about that Lol. 

Now my secondary and walk around camera bodies (questionably being made into the starting lineup) are my Fuji Film’s X-Pro2, and recently acquired X-T2 the lenses for these are.

  1. The Fuji 35mm f/2 WR lens (35mm equivalent of just over 50mm) Really sharp even wide open I really can’t explain how sharp, and how Fuji lenses render color, with outstanding micro contrast.  
  2. 23mm f/2 WR lens (35mm equivalent of 35mm lens) awesome, awesome lens almost epic in my opinion my only con is that it can be a little soft when shot close up with the aperture wide open.
  3. The 55-200mm f/3.5-4.8 variable aperture (35mm equivalent of 83-300mm) I just wrote a review about this lens, flat out this is a very good underrated sharp lens.  This lens has been on my X-T2 for the past week without being removed I think there might be a part 2 to the review about this 55-200mm f/3.5-4.8 lens.
  4. And the most recently acquired 16mm f/1.4 lens (35mm equivalent of 24mm) I have yet to completely finish testing this lens as it was just acquired so review is forthcoming.  Many Fuji shooters say this is the best fuji lens made to date we will see.  

Lighting wise I have a Canon 600 RT, and Nikon sp700 flashes, but those rarely get used.  If I need to light a scene or person I use Profoto gear I have a B1, and B2 location kits With modifiers.  In my opinion Profoto is one of the top 5 lighting systems and consistent with their light output.  

Let me know what your system is for creating your photography.  Check me out and follow me on instagram: @dewon.wilson, and @deewilsonphotography On Tumblr at Photographs by Dewon Wilson.  Thank you for your support.

4 thoughts on “What are you shooting with, and what is your go to camera and lens combo? 

Add yours

  1. I have to admit that I have not been shooting a lot with my digital cameras lately (Fujifilm X-T1 and X100T), and have been lugging around relatively heavier equipment, i.e., my film cameras. Basically I bring two or three film cameras, but mostly the Hasselblad 503CX, Nikon F3 HP. A light meter too and a couple of color and black and white films. If I absolutely need a digital image, I usually just use my phone. If I were to go out and shoot digital and try to keep it light, I would go for the Fujifilm X-T1 with my favorite 35mm F1.4 and the X100T. How are you finding the Acros film simulation in the X-T2? I’m curious if it’s something you like 🙂

    Like

    1. I actually like the Acros film simulation the black & white is so nice from it, and the great thing about it also is that it adds it’s own natural film grain to it when using higher ISO’s but on the X-Pro2, and XT2 you can add grain to your photos with the film grain simulation. You have quite an awesome kit how do you like the 35mm f1.4 I have the f2 it it’s great but was kind of stuck between the two.

      Like

      1. I would have been in the same predicament if I bought my camera at the time the f/2 version came out. Luckily, they only had the f/1.4 that time. I have heard a lot of good things about the f/2 though. The 35mm f/1.4 is my favorite lens. I’ve taken it to a lot of road trips and left the other lenses at home. The Acros simulations look really good, from what I have seen so far. How do you like your 35mm f/2? Do you have the 16-55? I’m interested in that lens but not sure if I need it at the moment.

        Like

      2. I love the 35mm f/2 it’s my least used lens at the moment, but unbelievably sharp. I was looking into that lens heard some good things about it, but went for the 16mm f/1.4 instead heard some amazing things about the 16mm plus got a great deal on one basically saved $400.00 on a excellent shape used one. So I have the 16, 23, 35, and 55-200mm lenses.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

